ACS Digital Disruptors Awards 2019

Are you an innovator or an ICT leader passionate about Australia’s digital future? Are you part of a team that has completely changed the way in which you engage your customers using technology? Are you an academic or a researcher who has contributed to advancing new and exciting ways of thinking about how we interact with the digital space in our day to day lives? If you answered yes to any of these questions, then we want to hear from you!

ACS is passionate about making Australia a global leader in digital technology, and ICT professionals are key to making Australia’s digital future a reality for all. That’s why ACS created the ACS Digital Disruptors Awards, to recognise, acknowledge and honour the individuals and teams who are at the forefront of digital disruption and taking Australia forward.

Now in their fifth year, the awards are a wonderful opportunity to showcase the amazing talent and innovative outcomes in the Australian ICT sector. We are looking for disruptive people and disruptive projects to recognise and celebrate. The ACS Digital Disruptors Awards are a chance for you to be recognised as a thought-leader and innovator who is playing an active role in Australia’s digital future.

Nominations for the 2019 ACS Digital Disruptors Awards are open! If you know someone or a team who deserves to be to be recognised for their achievements, don’t forget to nominate them.

The awards will be presented at a gala dinner following the 2019 Reimagination Thought Leaders’ Summit at the Melbourne Convention and Exhibition Centre on Wednesday 4 December 2019.

Nominations for the 2019 ACS Digital Disruptors Awards have now closed. The finalists will be announced on 4 October 2019.

Award Categories

Individual Awards
ICT Professional of the Year

The ICT Professional of the Year is a person who demonstrates excellence in their field of ICT. They are conscious and active in their continuing professional development (CPD) and display the highest standards of professional ethics. They also use their technical knowledge and expertise to be a positive role model in the workplace and leading by example, displaying exemplary professional and ethical standards in the workplace.

CXO Disruptor of the Year

The CXO Disruptor of the Year is a business leader who demonstrates outstanding leadership skills and is successfully taking their business on a journey of disruption. The individual does not need to have a specific role in ICT teams, however they need to demonstrate that they conduct themselves with professional integrity, are passionate about building a culture of developing and supporting staff, and are embarking on disruptive projects that have a positive impact on staff, clients and/or customers. These projects could be internally or externally focussed, and need to have measurable positive impacts on productivity, profitability and/or brand.

Young ICT Professional of the Year (Male/Female)

The Young Professional of the Year (Male and Female) is awarded to an individual who has established their career in ICT. Despite their age and experience, they have demonstrated excellence and a drive towards professional development. They are a role model and an example to their peers and conduct themselves with the highest standards of ethics and professionalism. The candidate needs to be under 30 years of age.

ICT Student of the Year

The ICT Student of the Year is a person who is usually a final year undergraduate student or has recently graduated in the last 12 months. They have a record of academic excellence during their studies, and can demonstrate innovation, entrepreneurship and professionalism in undertaking individual and team projects as part of their studies. They have started their journey to become an ICT Professional and can highlight their commitment to the profession. They also have a well-adjusted personality, not just excelling academically, but also showing interest in extracurricular activities, and possessing a strong ethical compass.

ICT Educator of the Year

The ICT Educator of the Year is a person who demonstrates creativity and innovation in coming up with a solution to a problem. They have taken the time to study, validate and implement this solution demonstrating high levels of stakeholder, risk and change management skills. Their solution shows innovation and has a high positive impact on the target audience.

ICT Researcher of the Year

The ICT Researcher of the Year has undertaken significant research in their specific field of ICT area of study. Their research has gone through the peer review process with demonstration through citations, publications, grants or conferences. Their research has also had a positive impact on their organisation, the industry and/or the wider community.

Team Awards
Service Transformation for the Digital Consumer

The Service Transformation award recognises a project that uses innovative ways to change how an organisation provides their services to the consumer. The project identifies process improvement, change implementation and management techniques used to deliver the outcome. The project provides a better digitally based experience to the customer with measurable controls and outputs.

Service Transformation is divided into three categories:

• Corporate
• Government
• NGO/Not for Profit

Skills Transformation of Work Teams

A Skills Transformation of Work Teams project requires a team, division or workforce to be developed and upskilled to use new ICT solutions to improve performance, culture, competencies and/or productivity. A successful nomination will demonstrate the use innovative solutions that helped transform the workforce in an ICT-related field.

Skills Transformation of Work Teams award is divided into three categories:

• Small Teams (under 20)
• Medium Teams (21-200)
• Large Teams (200 or more)

Best New Startup Platform

This award is for a new startup team that is working on developing innovative solutions that change how an organisation provides their services to the consumer. The nomination identifies the scope, innovation and disruptive outcomes of the solution being offered by the team. The solution provides a better customer experience through digital disruption with measurable controls and outputs.

For more information regarding award categories and the eligibility criteria to be considered for a nomination, please refer to the terms and conditions.